What a week! (7/9 – 7/15)

It was a castle-building, bug-catching, stand-up paddle boarding, sign-replacing, fun-having, hard-working-week.

So Three Scientists and a Park Ranger Walk into a Pocosin…

…and one scientist says to the others whats a pocosin? That scientist was me. This was the first time I’ve been in a pocosin as far as I know…its definitely the first time I’ve ever heard the word. It was supposed to be a wetland of some kind on a hill from what I was told.

Kinda had that “forbidden forest” feel.

Everything was burned, black and sooty. Not exactly the spitting image of any wetland I have ever seen. We ventured in there to find any plant species that were alive or beginning to grow post-wildfire and locate previously marked vegetation study areas. The study areas we supposedly marked by re-bar sticking an inch out of the ground. The plant cover was thick vines and short shrubs  up to half a foot thick all over the  area. I guess some scientists don’t think that far ahead. Needless to say we didn’t find their exact locations. It was cool to see the various plants and animals that lived there though. We saw a whole mess of pitcher plants. I was amazed at them not just for the fact that they’re cool plants, but I had never seen them outside those little plastic containers you buy them in at the garden section at Lowes.

Can I get you something to drink?

After we were about to finish up the job the park ranger walked over to the biologist we were working with and said “We should get out of here. Looks like the weather is brewing.” He answered her with “Yeah, I want to find the wild cranberries first. They’re around here somewhere.” Ten minutes later the skies opened up. He found no cranberries. The rain was torrential (almost hurricane like) the whole mile back to the car. I still have water in my bones from Tuesday. It was fun though. Very wet, windy, and muddy fun. There is a part of the seven-year old me that won’t leave.

VICTORY IS MINE!

I caught the red dragonfly. It turns out it is a Golden-wing Skimmer.

Red dragonflies are poor sports. He kept trying to bite me.

Upon closer inspection there was a pair of damselflies mating.note the voyeur fly.

Flies: dirty eaters, dirty peepers.

It’s a Trap!

My bugs traps are set and ready. The cloth one was put up first, then the mesh one a day later due to complications in the field. They look like ghosts in an odd sort of way and almost surprise me every time I walk over the hill and I first see them.

That’s what’s SUP.

Surfing for those who are even more chill.

I had to title this part of the post that due to the SUP puns me and another intern and I were making while stand up paddle-boarding. It was my first time, but it was easy and fun past the first five minutes when I though I’d be going for a, unintended swim. After SUPing, I jumped off a bridge. Before I could get out, I was introduced by some middle-schoolers to a cone apparently named Tom that was hidden under the nearby boardwalk…it made me consider if I was that weird in middle school…

…wait. I still am.

Here is the video of Me Jumping Off a Bridge .

Over the weekend I went to the beach a couple of times too. With the recently moved in UNC students, we made a sandcastle by hand. I called it the NC State-UNC co-operative miniature silicon dioxide fortified medieval living grounds, or NCSUNCCMSDFMLG for short (there’s that middle school part of me). We watched it ultimately get destroyed by a scale tsunami, and proceeded to dig holes, that filled with water, to chill in until we decided to leave later in the evening.

A castle complete with main building, armory, secondary tower, rear watchtower, peasant village, and double walled moat system (with mole crab moat monster).

Well, that’s all folks. I’m happy and I hope you’re happy too. Never stop chasing your red dragonfly. You might just get it a week later. Well, that just took all my philosophy for the week. Later!

About Green Wuf

I wear a lot of hats. Physically and metaphorically. Scientist, band member, runner, weight lifter, gamer, volunteer. It doesn't matter what I'm doing, as long as I am. I'm nothing extraordinary, just not ordinary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What a week! (7/9 – 7/15)

  1. omawarisan says:

    Flies are nasty in so many ways. I never trust them.

    A cone?

    • Green Wuf says:

      Flying everywhere thinking their in charge! Who do they think they are?
      Oh, yeah it was a traffic cone. It was put there to point something out under the water under the dock, but it wasn’t doing a very good job as it was underwater as well.

  2. ‘Sup?

    That’s the middle schooler in me.

  3. We found him Captain!! says:

    I once caught a praying mantis saying the rosary. They are easy to catch because they are so focused on praying they don’t see you sneaking up on them. Keep having fun on your job. FYI the Sgt. got himself a nice looking set of wheels…..

    • Green Wuf says:

      Yeah, I guess they try to make up for all the non-religious insects right? Ha ha. Oh yeah at the current moment I only have a week and a half to go, but I’ll squeeze every second out of it that I can. I saw that he sent me a picture. Nice car isn’t it?

  4. Okasama says:

    I love how your work has taken you down paths less traveled, to see these wierd and beautiful spots. Definitely not what the typical touist sees. Also, I’m very happy for your taking that cannonball off the bridge! That’s another one off your list, isn’t it?

    (Said the voyeur fly under his breath, “Hmmmm, I thought I saw some cranberries around here?”

    • Green Wuf says:

      Yeah, Ive seen some cool stuff I mean it rare for a tourist to see any horses here on our sites because the horses like to hide in the shade now due to the heat. I saw them every day last month. Heck I even got up real close to them to study them, even though you’re only supposed to be within 50 ft.

  5. Debbie says:

    Work should always include some fun — sounds like you have a nice balance going!

Leave a Reply

