Bugs, Horses, and Fish. Which One is Not Like the Others? (6/4 – 6/10)

Trick question. I left out the theater, sodas, and singing. Still don’t know? Well neither do I. If you figure it out, let me know.

I’m 93 years old!

I know right? Oh yeah…that’s in dog years. Dogs need to stop exaggerating so much. Yup, turned 20 officially on Monday. While I celebrated it with my family earlier, my actual birthday involved me working knee deep in swamp mud and enjoying a NEHI Peach soda. It was pure deliciousness. In a glass bottle. The UNC-P people staying here in the house sang happy birthday to me. They’re some really cool people.

I guess they like to stay on their toes!
(Oh the pun!)

While working on Monday, we found some wild horses. We were able to get real close. It was a really cool experience. They were kinda dazed and out of it, sleep standing. I admire their dedication to the cause of standing, but I could never do it.

The rest of the days ’till the weekend were pretty much the same. Looking for and recording wildlife, tallying surveys, and being a bug buffet. But I’m not complaining. Besides the bites, I love every second of it.

The Lost Colony

On Saturday I went kayaking in the Manteo harbor/marshes. A huge osprey flew over me and I got super close to a heron in the marshes.

Yeah, I had to be one of those people who had to mess with the guards. Ironically, the guard change just happened.

Later that night, I went to see “The Lost Colony.” I don’t know how they were lost because they were right there when we parked. I feel bad for the people who had to portray the Native Americans outside of the theater. How long can you stand outside hiding behind a tree pretending to be clueless? The play was excellent though. Excellent actors, and some interesting ideas for special effects including slow-mo. Slow-mo in a live play? Who knew?

Scavenger Hunt Horses 1-3

Horse 1

Horse 1: The Butterfly

A horse with butterfly wings. Covered in butterflies.

Horse 2: AUGH!! WHO CLIPPED MY WINGS!?

A horse painted like its on fire. It had wings too, they apparently didn’t last.

Horse 3

Horse 3: Early Riser

This little horse is open starting a 6:30, apparently(The banner next to it says so. I apologize the picture is small).

Have a good week, everyone. I’m happy, and I hope you’re happy too.

About Green Wuf

I wear a lot of hats. Physically and metaphorically. Scientist, band member, runner, weight lifter, gamer, volunteer. It doesn't matter what I'm doing, as long as I am. I'm nothing extraordinary, just not ordinary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bugs, Horses, and Fish. Which One is Not Like the Others? (6/4 – 6/10)

  1. The Lumbee of the Lost Colony — those are my people.

    I love the picture of the horses on the beach. Doesn’t it kind of look like the group is gathered around the slacker, let’s call him Ed, and they’re all like, “Hey, Ed. See the guy with the camera? Yeah, he’s on an internship and he’s going to be blogging about this. Dude, you’re makin’ us look bad. C’mon, Ed. Get up and do some sleep-standin’.”

    They still make NEHI? Do they still make grape? I loved that stuff.

    • Green Wuf says:

      Ed is such a slacker! Horses are really conscious about the presence they portray as a group. I believe many live by the philosophy that the group is only as good as the weakest link. And eat lots of grass, but mostly the group thing.

      Yup, and Yup.I’ve seen three flavors of NEHI here so far. Peach, grape, and cherry. IT was some REALLY good stuff.

  2. omawarisan says:

    Sir Walter Raleigh wrote “The Lost Colony” because he didn’t have a car and couldn’t get in to the parking lot.
    Hey, Action Man. What is the minimum number of items needed to play “one of these things is not like the others”?

  3. Okasama says:

    I’ve often wondered if the “Lost Colony” was carried off by all of those mosquitoes.
    P.S. Wishing you continued success in the OBX Horse Scavenger Hunt!

    • Green Wuf says:

      I bet. I can certainly vouch for that theiory!

      Thanks. I’ve actually found about 8-10 so far, but due to how odd pictures are with WordPress sometimes, its been a little difficult. Also, I don’t want to flood the blog with pictures all at once.

  4. Debbie says:

    I can’t get over your photo of the horses on the beach sleep-standing. I’ve never seen anything quite like that. Though I’d like to!

    • Green Wuf says:

      Yeah, apparently, from what I hear, while they can lay down, most stay standing. It was really cool. We weren’t allowed to get too close though, as there is a law that you can’t be within 50 feet of one.

Leave a Reply

