The Time is Here! (5/26 – 6/3)

A Wuf arrives in Manteo

My parents and I arrived last Saturday after a six-hour drive from our house. Now, I’ve been on longer drives before, however, six hours is still not the most fun. At least in terms of length. However, when you meet fast food workers named Latrina (I kid you not) it makes it a little better. Perhaps if her brother Portojohn was there the drive through would have been faster…

One Could Say I’m Excited…

My parents and I hung out late Saturday and early Sunday as sort of like a mini vacation. We visited various local restaurants meeting a pirate at one, go-karted, and visited the dunes. I spun out my Dad while we go-karted. I needed to get past him, but I didn’t want to go Speed Racer on him. Things always end up badly for anyone opposing Speed.

Finally, Monday rolled around. We left to go to Raleigh for my orientation which was early Tuesday morning. We ate at an on-campus Korean restaurant I like where I destroyed a whole bowl of Bi-Bim-Bap (say that five times fast) and celebrated by birthday Monday evening. While my birthday was in a hotel room, on the road, and not actually on my birthday, I have to say, it was one of the best birthdays I’ve had yet. Half frozen cheesecake is actually really good. But it’s neither the presents or the cake that made it good.

The orientation was informative. Honestly, it was a little dull, but it needed to be done and I needed the information. Perhaps if they replaced the keynote speaker with Springsteen, the meeting would have been more exciting. The parent Wufs and I left for Manteo after having some lunch. Fortunately its only a 3 hour drive from Raleigh to Manteo.

First Couple of Days

Warning: Wild blueberries may contain nicotine.

I started work with my internship the next day. I got no sleep the night before. I guess I was a little too excited. The first day was great though I was running on fumes mentally. We walked around sites I’d be working at and ate wild blueberries. They were really good. I think my boss is addicted to them though. She had some at every bush we passed.

Annoying little bugger.

The next two days I worked with another intern, who I will be working with all summer. We worked to clear out the trails in the Kitty Hawk Woods Coastal Reserve. All while being assaulted by horseflies, mosquitoes, and ticks.

Its like the manual version of Round-up. At least with this you get to pretend you’re a pirate.

On the other hand, I did get to play with a machete.

We saw plenty of wildlife. Go figure right? I have too many pictures of stuff to upload, but here is a picture of a Yellow-bellied slider. He tried to pee on us when we picked him up.

Yellow-bellied slider? I can tell you why his belly is yellow.

Short Week, Shorter Weekend

Over the weekend I went to Dare Day with some of the other interns. Dare Day is small street a festival (they love those here) with different kinds of vendors, local shops, people singing who have no ability to do so, and lots of people shuffling around. Oh yeah, and lots of delicious fried food. Can’t forget the good stuff. It was really cool seeing all of the local shops set up on the streets, and I even got myself a cool para-cord bracelet. The local kids were also doing their usual day-of-celebration activity of jumping off a bridge into the water in the harbor. One of these days I’ll be doing that. When in Manteo right? I’ll post the video if I get the courage to do it.

Finally, Saturday evening the non-intern residents arrived at the house. These are a group of students from UNC Pembroke who are acting in the local play about the lost colony. They’re a crazy bunch, but very cool. I’ve been hanging out with a few of them.

Also, just a couple of heads ups on some stuff I’ll be doing with the blog:

1) Horse Scavenger Hunt: Scattered about the Outer Banks are horse statues. Not just any horse statues, these are decorated in really cool and artsy ways. Must’ve been a town promotion for the town of Nag’s Head here. I don’t know how many are around, but I’m gonna find as many as I can, and try to post them here.

2) My Quest for the Hatteras Sno-ball: I came here for vacation a lot, and different shops used to sell what are called here Hatteras Sno-balls. It’s a scoop of Ice Cream in a big styrofoam cup covered in shaved ice (any flavor you want) typically served overflowing, and with marshmallow or regular cream and chocolate syrup on top. I loved these, but few if any shops make them anymore, and they are extremely rare. I’m on a quest to find one…and eat it.

3) If you wish to see all of the picture I’ll be taking of everything, I’ll try to get an account on some kind of picture-uploading site. I’ll keep y’all updated.

So, until next time, as Major Tom said; “I’m happy, and I hope you’re happy too.”

About Green Wuf

I wear a lot of hats. Physically and metaphorically. Scientist, band member, runner, weight lifter, gamer, volunteer. It doesn't matter what I'm doing, as long as I am. I'm nothing extraordinary, just not ordinary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Time is Here! (5/26 – 6/3)

  1. Debbie says:

    Happy Birthday late! My son celebrated his 21st in New York City during the Men’s Big East Basketball Tourney. I don’t ask, he doesn’t tell. He’s not a little kid any more, though he’ll always be my baby! I’m not particularly fond of bugs or peeing turtles, but somebody’s gotta handle ’em, right?! Good luck with the internship.

  2. The Hipster says:

    Perhaps if they replaced the keynote speaker with Springsteen, the meeting would have been more exciting.
    I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to start using that line on those evaluation forms they hand out at the end of seminars/workshops/conferences. Brilliant.

    On the other hand, I did get to play with a machete.

    I don’t know why, but that line just cracks me up.

    Happy birthday to you and very best wishes for a delightful summer. How could it not be, especially if sno-balls play a part?

    • Green Wuf says:

      Thanks! I don’t mind at all. Perhaps a movement will start and conferences will no longer be a thing people don’t want to go to! Thank you very much!
      I have a feeling this summer will be great, and I will quest until I find the Hatteras Sno-ball! Or ’till I leave. I hope I find it first though!

  3. Betty says:

    “Yellow-bellied slider? I can tell you why his belly is yellow.” Best photo caption. Ever.

  4. omawarisan says:

    What? You invoke the name of Speed Racer. Just for that, I’m coming down there for a rematch.

  5. Please send me a Hatteras Sno-ball. Thank you in advance.

  6. Okasama says:

    This is a little belated, but I want to compliment you on your banner. Looking at both Coasts – the Sound and the Ocean – at the same time. Very clever!

  7. We found him Captain!! says:

    Hey GW,
    Belated birthday greetings!!! Sounds like you are having fun and plan to have much more of the same. Good Luck!! That bowl of Bim Bam Bap sounded delicious. It probably would go real well with the great sandwich I had at a restaurant in NJ. It was on crispy french bread loaded with fresh home made mozzarella with roasted red peppers, real lean sliced deli. ham and then grilled on a panini press. Maybe one day we can make both recipes and share the two for lunch.

    Be good, be careful, have fun and let me know if you need anything. Mom-mom misses you and sends her regards…..

    The captain

  8. Green Wuf says:

    Thanks! Ha ha! The Bi Bim Bap was really good. That’s an interesting idea, a lunch of Korean and Italian-American deli sandwiches! I’ll have to take you up on that!

    I miss both you guys. I’ll send you guys the good news on stuff and I’ll see you in that odd week gap between the end of this and the start of band camp!

Leave a Reply

